Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
2

94 - A Cafe Story

sneakyart drop
2

👋🏼 Hello, readers!

A SneakyArt Drop is exactly what it sounds like.

It has been a very cold week in Vancouver. I was walking up Davie St, looking for a warm cafe and a seat by a window. I walked up and up until I found myself walking down again. I stopped at an intersection, under a light, and tested the air with my fingertips. This question was racing through my mind - How long can I last if I have to sketch outdoors?

A sudden gust of wind answered the question. Maybe not today, I sighed. But then I walked past Melriches Coffee House, which is difficult to spot if you don’t know what to look for. And I saw a seat by the front window.

I walked in.

I ordered my coffee (black, small) and prepared to head towards the window when I saw the two elderly ladies in the middle of the cafe. From where I stood, they were framed on all sides by young whippersnappers typing something or the other on their laptops, plugged into their headphones. Connected, yet utterly disconnected.

But they sat in the middle, their heads close together. They were talking about their day. It looked like they did this often.

I sat.

I watched.

I drank it all in.

Then - once I knew I had it - I started. Left to right. This beautiful world of SneakyArt.

🔥 What is a SneakyArt Drop?

A SneakyArt Drop is exactly what it sounds like.

Over 100 years ago, the painter Kandinsky said,

“… lend your ears to music, open your eyes to painting, and … stop thinking! Just ask yourself whether the work has enabled you to “walk about” into a hitherto unknown world. If the answer is yes, what more do you want?”

That is all I hope to achieve.

If this post pushed you, even for a moment, out of your own time and space, pay it forward. Share this post with someone else who could use it too!

(And help me reach more people. 🙃)

Share

Thank you for your time and attention.

[find sneakyart on instagram | twitter | tiktok]
2 Comments
The SneakyArt Post
The SneakyArt Post
Authors
Nishant Jain