6

Day 29. Cambie Village.

sitting outside a jj beans on a grey day in a blue mood.
6

👋🏼 Hello reader.

On this grey morning, I woke up feeling blue.

This is Day 29 of 30 Days of Vancouver, my daily drawing project to capture accidental art all over this new part of my world.

If you are a new reader, welcome to the SneakyArt Post. In this publication, I share my art, and lessons from my journey of self-education to be an artist. Here are some popular posts - [1] [2] [3] [4].

Whenever I am blue, I find solace in the music and lyrics of Chet Baker, who is my official spirit animal -

“Some folks were meant to live in clover
But they are such a chosen few.
And clover, being green, is something
I’ve never seen.
Coz I was born to be blue.”

“When there’s a yellow moon above me,
They say there’s moonbeams I should view.
But moonbeams being gold, are
Something I can’t behold.
Coz I was born to blue.”

  • Chet Baker, “Born to be Blue”


I also thought about these words from my favourite author, Kurt Vonnegut -


If you like what you read, share this newsletter with another person who might like it. Make sure they see it. Don’t take no for an answer. Be oddly persistent. Make them wonder about you.

Share The SneakyArt Post

Today was also the tenth straight day of leaving behind art for a stranger to find. Last week I explained why I am doing this and how it empowers me as an artist & human being.

Today I found a message on Instagram from someone who found the first drawing I had left on Day 20 in Kerrisdale. I shared the story on Twitter:

Here is what they said:


Dear reader, if this isn’t nice, I don’t know what is. Thanks for giving me a space in your inbox. I hope you’re having a good day.

6 Comments
The SneakyArt Post
30 Days of Vancouver
A 30-day daily drawing project all over the city of Vancouver, Canada. (1 Apr - 30 Apr 2022)
Authors
Nishant Jain