Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
4

214. Harmless Untruths

what are the foma of your life?
4

Dear reader,

Do you believe in magic?

Most people don’t. But that does not stop them from enjoying a magic trick. A magic trick is a unique device that serves to baffle and amaze the viewer, but only because they agree to be baffled and amazed. Magic requires a suspension of disbelief, a mutual agreement between the magicker and the magicked, the magician and their audience, to believe in its power. In other words, magic is real if you believe that it is. Like finding sneaky art in your world, it has to be believed to be seen.

The SneakyArt Post is a publication about secretly drawn art of the world. Every week, I share the latest drawings from my sketchbook and the best ideas from my journey as an artist and writer.

If you like having SneakyArt in your inbox, help me reach more people.

Share The SneakyArt Post

Foma

In the novel Cat’s Cradle, the protagonist is introduced to a fictional religion called Bokononism. Bokononism does not offer great truth or great reward to its followers. Its followers understand that a useful religion can nevertheless be founded on complete lies.

Here is another important principle of Bokononism, found at the start of the novel:

Live by the foma* that make you brave and kind and healthy and happy.

*foma = harmless untruths.

Dear reader, what are the foma of your life?

Leave a comment

All Models are Wrong

Over a decade ago now, I sat in a class called Optimization of Systems and Control. It was part of my Master’s degree in Mechanical Engineering at the TU Delft (in the Netherlands). The professor pointed to this quote on the slide -

All models are wrong. But some models are useful.

Many lessons from those days have left me now, falling away from lack of use, but this one has stuck. I think about it often.

Spotted crossing the street at Main/Kingsway.


Information and signage and portents of the future, outside Gene Coffee on Main.

“I see Tiny People…”

Just like that, it is now two months since I was on stage at the Vancouver Playhouse, speaking at PechaKucha Night Vol 55.

“Hello, I am a Sneaky Artist. This is a job title I gave myself…”

Afterwards, I wrote about making the Extrovert Switch, referring to how I prepare myself for a social evening -

“I did not want to be too prescriptive because then my mind would lock into perfectionism. I wanted to leave no scope for perfectionism…” (continue reading)

Links and Updates

💻 This Saturday is the second edition of my Zoom workshop - How to Start and Finish your Sketches. Sign up! Use code [SNEAKYREADER] for a special discount.

🎟️ Did you know Insiders get free seats in all workshops and virtual events?

💌 This week, SneakyArt Insiders are participating in the first ever SneakyArt Caption Contest.

Thank you, dear reader, for your time and attention. I am glad to have a space in your inbox.

4 Comments
The SneakyArt Post
The SneakyArt Post
Authors
Nishant Jain