Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
8

Insider #24 - SneakyArt Giveaway

original art + books, and why a giveaway.
8

👋🏼 Hello, Insiders!

And a special welcome to everyone that signed up this week. I’m delighted to have you in the SneakyArt Insiders Club!

I’ve had a very interesting last couple of weeks. I had extended conversations with a couple of artists whose work I enjoy very much, and they left me with deep questions about what I want to achieve as an artist.

It is a long list of thoughts, which you will hear about again in coming weeks, but today I want to pick one idea, to resume a practice that is very dear to me - let’s do a SneakyArt Giveaway!

🎉 The SneakyArt Giveaway

This month’s giveaways are 1 original art (post-card size) + 2 copies of my book, SneakyArt of 2019.

Below is February’s original art giveaway, as drawn in Kafka’s on Main St, on 17th February.

I am also giving away 2 copies of my self-published book, SneakyArt of 2019. I made this book on a whim, to try out a new self-publishing service. I did not realize then that it would become a final record of the world before COVID.

Slim, softcover collection of SneakyArt, drawn in the last year before COVID.

So this month we will have THREE lucky winners.

Here’s how it goes -

To enter the raffle, all you have to do is leave a comment to this post - telling me what you like about SneakyArt, and the kind of exclusive Insider content you are most interested in seeing.

Leave a comment

🤔 Why do this?

Two reasons.

First, your answers in the raffle will, apart from brightening my day, give me a useful sense of direction in my work.

As an independent artist and writer, I am invested in each of my Insiders. I seek to better understand you (and how you see my work) in order to better align our interests, and thus keep growing this circle. This would be the basis of a harmonious, mutually enriching relationship between us.

Second, I am excited to do this giveaway because it resonates with a deeply held personal belief - that art should have value beyond the idea of economic transactions between people.

In other words, there is a lot to gain by simply giving art away.

As the artist, it reinforces the idea that I am in charge of my art, instead of the other way around. As a consumer, it helps me realize a world where our access to beautiful things is not limited by our ability to pay money for them.


You see, art is the most human thing in the world. It was borne out of our particular human imagination, motivated by our particular human tendencies, to meet the most uniquely human of all needs - the need to create something of beauty.

Enjoying art, making art, sharing art - these are habits that reaffirm our humanity.

I look forward to speaking with you in the comments. And I hope you will join me in this good thing to do.

Thank you for your time and attention!

8 Comments
The SneakyArt Post
The SneakyArt Post
Authors
Nishant Jain