Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
6

Sketcher Fest Dispatch

Insider #95 with scenes from a busy weekend.
6

EDIT: This post is now open to all readers.

Support SneakyArt.

*****

Dear Insider,

Please excuse this delayed post. It has been a very busy weekend. My throat is sore from speaking with hundreds of people. I am grateful to everyone that came down to Edmonds for the inaugural Sketcher Fest, that attended my workshop, and everyone who bought my books and prints. I loved meeting every single person, especially the many fans of the SneakyArt Podcast.

The SneakyArt Post is currently on summer break. But weekly communications continue with SneakyArt Insiders, the paying subscribers and patrons who keep me going as an independent artist and writer.

In this post, watch the video for rushes from my workshop, titled - “Natural Frames: How to Start and Finish your Sketches”.

Signing books & drawing people

I will share more stories and pics soon, but here are some of the wonderful people that bought my books, zines, and prints. I also gave away free portraits to people that came to speak with me.

Natural Frames

Every workshop of mine begins with a pledge. Participants must write at the top of their page -

“Today I will make a lot of bad drawings.”

This is not a gimmick. It is essential permission, to push beyond one’s comfort zone and do something challenging. There are no good drawings if there are no bad drawings. And often we are our own biggest obstacles.

I did a couple of demos to explain and illustrate the ideas of this workshop.

In the first demo, I explained the concept of natural frames - how to see them, and how to capture them as your fore, middle, or background.

I also explained the first half of my technique when covering a page - the idea of going inside out.

The first half of this workshop was about going inside out

Going inside-out helps me bring focus to my work, which is crucial because urban sketching is a way to also discover your own inspirations. It helps answer the question - What made you want to draw this scene?

Secondly, it helps your viewer immediately and instinctively understand what you want them to see. It helps them focus too.


If you are a new reader of this newsletter, welcome. Thank you for giving me a space in your inbox. To learn more about me, my work, and this space, read the latest re-introduction/welcome email below.


Inside-Out/Outside-In

The second part of my technique is outside-in. It saves me time and therefore allows me to sketch in situations where I have less time.

This is helpful when you are sketching in busy places, or taking advantage of a short break in a busy day. Maybe you are out with non-sketching friends who have limited patience for your bouts of sudden inspiration. Maybe you are suddenly pulled away. Maybe your scene changes. The sketch should not look ‘incomplete’.

Going outside in
Loading...

Some, ah, depressing news

I received rejections from both literary agencies to whom I sent my book proposal. One of them said I was too much like one of my comparative titles.

I disagree. And I think they made a mistake. But I cannot help feeling glum about it this morning. I really thought I had it.

So it goes.

Join me this month

The next Insider Hangout is on July 29.

Thank you, dear Insider, for your support of my work. I am glad to have a space in your inbox.

6 Comments
The SneakyArt Post
The SneakyArt Post
Authors
Nishant Jain