Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
28

228. While Rohan Gently Sleeps

the sketchbook as an excuse to keep looking at this little guy
28
Transcript

No transcript...

Dear reader,

Watching Rohan sleep, and drawing him while he sleeps, is a unique joy of my life these days. A sketchbook is the excuse, really. An excuse to observe him deeply, and not just as a parent looking at their child.

In today’s post, how the artist must be a child too.

The SneakyArt Post is a publication of secretly drawn art of the world. Every week I share the latest pages from my sketchbook and the best ideas from my journey as a parent, artist, and writer.

If you liked seeing this post in your inbox, share it with another new parent?

Share


Drawing Rohan is a meditation to observe the lines of his face, to observe how his hair falls, and how his fingers curl on the edge of the cloth we use to swaddle him.

Drawing is a way to simplify the things you see and recognize into mere lines and shapes. In that respect, drawing my 11-week old son has one more benefit. It allows me to see him the way he probably sees me - mere lines and shapes. Not knowing me as his father, because he does not yet know what a father is. Not recognizing me as a human, because he does not yet know people either. I am just some lines and shapes, coalescing over days and weeks into a recognizable form.

Lines and shapes, and sounds. I try to remember that. So while I draw, I listen too. His breathing, soft snores, and the first cry when he wakes.

Tiny Houdini, with a Blackwing pencil.

To support my work as an independent artist and writer, to support more drawings of little Rohan that he will see one day when he is better able to see drawings -

Buy Me A Coffee


Later this year, I am speaking (and demo-ing) at the Wild Wonder Nature Journaling Conference. This virtual event is for all people passionate about nature, art, and science. It is a space for us to share ideas, learn from one another, and support and inspire each other to celebrate nature’s bounty. There will be more than 25 classes, panels, and lectures from over 30 teachers, journalers, artists, and authors. I am pleased to be among them.

Learn more and grab an Early Bird ticket for only $30 at a $30 discount!

Wild Wonder Conference 2024


Thank you for your time and attention. I am glad to have a space in your inbox.

28 Comments