The SneakyArt Post
The SneakyArt (Insider) Podcast
Post 126. Inventing Life's Meaning with James Richards (Part 2)
2
0:00
-2:28

Post 126. Inventing Life's Meaning with James Richards (Part 2)

Notes from 🎙 Ep 44 of the SneakyArt Podcast
2

👋🏼 Hello listeners.

I am delighted to share the latest episode of the SneakyArt Podcast, the conclusion of my epic 3-hour conversation with James Richards. Find below notes from the conversation, and a glimpse into how I take notes before and during the episode. In the audio, my introduction to today’s episode. Happy listening!

🎙 Ep 44 - Inventing Life’s Meaning with James Richards

The second half of the conversation with Florida-based artist, educator, author and architect James Richards, about travelling the world as an architect and as an educator, the concept of “stealing like an artist”, and Jim’s decision to pick creativity and autonomy at various stages of his professional life.

To invent your own life’s meaning is not easy, but it is still allowed. And I think you’ll be happier for the trouble.” - Bill Watterson (creator of Calvin and Hobbes) [link to ZenPencils comic]

❤️ Follow James Richards’ work on Instagram and visit his website for information about upcoming workshops.

🤳🏼 Follow SneakyArt on Instagram | TikTok | Twitter

Listen to this episode on your choice of streaming service, or grab a link below:

Spotify | Apple | PocketCasts | Google | Web | Gaana

✍🏼 Taking notes

Even though I do all my research on Notion, at some point I have to use paper. Below is the cheat sheet for my conversation with Jim.

This double-page spread contains ideas from research online, final thoughts the night before the recording (red), points jotted during the conversation, and connections made afterwards in the editing stage.

My big creative resolution for 2022 is to LEARN IN PUBLIC. And with 44 episodes released (and another 5 recordings in the pipeline!), I finally feel confident about sharing my process of making the SneakyArt Podcast. Here are three good reasons I will be doing this -

🎙 For the wannabe podcaster. My workflow can serve as a useful template out of which to design what works best for you.

❤️ For the fans. A lot of positive feedback on BuyMeACoffee specifies the episode structure and depth of conversations. This would be a behind-the-scenes look at how it is done!

🎯 For me. It will help me make sense of my own process, and re-iterate for better results in the future. I hope that it will also make me a better thinker, listener, and speaker.

🎙 Listeners, is this of interest to you?

Leave a comment

💭 Ep 44 Show Notes

This conversation with Jim has been full of great ideas and quotes. Here is a chronological list with links!

🗣 “I’ve never gone to a meeting where I wanted the other guy to show up.” - Jim shares a quote by Larry David, as they discuss their mutual reluctance to show up for meetings.

🗣 “Leave room for magic.” - Nishant.

👨🏻‍🎨 When did Jim permit him the title of ‘artist’? Jim speaks about understanding the value of his work, as artist and author, from an outside perspective.

👨‍🏫 Jim speaks about the opportunity to teach a workshop at the Madeline Island School of the Arts with Paul Heaston, Shari Blaukopf, and Uma Kelkar.

🗣 “Plein air is rooted in the arts, and urban sketching is rooted in journalism.” - Jim, pontificating on fine art vs sketch, and urban sketcher vs fine artist.

🎙 On the subject of art and journalism, listen to the Bonus Commentary after Episode 15 with George Butler, on the history of war illustration.

🎙 Jim mentions the work of Gabi Campanario as sketch-journalist for the Seattle Times. Listen to my conversation with Gabi in Ep 16.

📖 Nishant talks about Arthur Danto’s “End of Art” (read).

🖼 Nishant refers to Dutch Golden Age painters who first depicted peasant life. For example, Pieter Bruegel the Elder as referenced in Episode 17 with Roisin Cure.

👨🏻‍🎨 On the subject of “stealing like an artist”, Jim speaks about learning from urban sketchers such as Rita Sabler (listen to Ep 36 with Rita Sabler) and Inma Serrano.

🏙 Nishant asks, “Why is a city?

🌉 From the point of view of a landscape architect, what are some differences between new and old cities? Jim speaks about James Kunstler’s “Geography of Nowhere: The Rise and Fall of America’s Man-Made Landscape”.

🏞 Jim explains how landscape architects close the feedback loop with the communities they serve.

There are many, many subjects left for Jim and I to speak about. In fact, we are already planning another chat.

🎙 Listeners, I would love to hear what you think of this episode!

Leave a comment

💻 Upcoming Zoom hangout. This Sunday (9 am PT) I am doing a Zoom-based sketchbook tour and hangout with fans. The event is FREE to attend, but with limited seats.

Grab a seat!

✍🏼 Tiny Storytelling with Insiders. In the Sunday edition, I am running a storytelling thread with SneakyArt Insiders. Best entries will win signed prints and copies of my book!

Become an Insider

2 Comments
The SneakyArt Post
The SneakyArt (Insider) Podcast
Best ideas from a journey of self-education. For Insider ears only.