The SneakyArt Post
The SneakyArt (Insider) Podcast
Ep 56 - An Art Residency on Wheels
0:00
-17:38

Ep 56 - An Art Residency on Wheels

drawing aboard the trains of vancouver!

Dear listener,

After a long hiatus, the SneakyArt Podcast is back for a new season. New ideas and new plans for new episodes, but the same old host. Ha!

In this episode, I want to talk about a unique art residency given to me by the City of Vancouver - to draw on the trains!

To support this show and my work as an independent creative, become a SneakyArt Insider!

Support SneakyArt


Dear listener, have you ever made drawings on a train?

It’s something I love to do, but it isn’t easy. You have to match the rhythm of the train. Does the train in your city shake a lot? Does it swerve hard? Does it speed up as it approaches the station or slow down? Is there a last-second jerk? You have to know these things so your lines don’t go all over the page.

But it’s not just about the art. You have to be comfortable taking up space for this silly little thing around all the commuters going to work or heading home, people visiting friends and family, parents with young children...

Strangers, friends, colleagues, family members - thousands of lives come together on a city’s train network. It is a beautiful place to draw.

10 Dec on the Sea Bus, connecting downtown to North Vancouver.

If you are a new listener, this episode is unlike all the others. I am glad to have you here. Don’t forget to dive into the archives after it is over.

If you are a veteran listener, I am so excited to have you back. Thanks for waiting all these weeks.

Leave a comment


The reason that this project immediately captured my attention is that I love public transport. See above my TV spot on CBC Evening News!

I am interested in all the things that bring strangers together to achieve common goals. In this case, it is the fundamental goal inside a city - to go from Point A to Point B.

Read further in Post #168 when I announced the residency on Substack, and Post #170 when I shared my progress midway through the project.

A scene from my session at Waterfront Station
My second session was on the Millenium Line
I recorded a TV spot with CBC Evening News!

"My art is a way to feel comfortable in foreign places, to try to better understand strangers and the way communities live, even looking at it from a distance, even when you feel like you are an outsider.”

My giant sketchbook at Waterfront Station
Sharing art with others on the train.
Sights on the Sea Bus


Tiny People on the Train

I put my favourite people together in this print.

Buy the print!


Recording this episode was an uncomfortable thing to do. To do a new format, in a way I was again pushing out of my comfort zone. If you found it useful, get in touch and let me know. I could use the positive feedback!

☕️ If you liked this episode, why not buy me a coffee? It is so easy to support an independent podcast!

❤️ If you love my work, consider becoming a SneakyArt Insider. In exchange for your support, you get behind-the-scenes access to all my projects and many other perks.

0 Comments
The SneakyArt Post
The SneakyArt (Insider) Podcast
Best ideas from a journey of self-education. For Insider ears only.