The SneakyArt Post
The SneakyArt (Insider) Podcast
[Insider 44] Clip from Ep 50 + Workshop Dates
0:00
-6:16

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of The SneakyArt Post

[Insider 44] Clip from Ep 50 + Workshop Dates

so much to do this summer!

Dear Insider,

In the audio, I am sharing a short clip from my ~2-hour recording with Uma Kelkar for Episode 50 of the SneakyArt Podcast. Flipping the script, this episode was hosted by Uma, who used the chance to ask me questions about my life and how I came to SneakyArt.

Thank you to all the wonderful Insiders, listeners, and past guests, who submitted questions for this special episode!

The full conversation releases next month. For now, I hope you enjoy this segment.

Also in this Insider post, find plans for more workshops!

🎙 The Recording for Episode 50

I honestly had no idea what I would (or could) do for the fiftieth episode. It kinda snuck up on me!

The best idea I had - which I still hold - was to take a short break from releasing new episodes. My last break was in December, and I feel due for a good one again. Happily, the scheduled date of release for Ep 50 coincides with the start of my European vacation next month!

Loading...

So it was a delight when Uma reached out to me with this idea.

We set up a Typeform link where listeners and fans could directly reach her with questions for me. As a result, I had no clue which questions were coming next, or from whom. Fun!

In the clip I have shared with this post, I mention something I love about a lot of urban sketchers and listeners of the podcast - that a majority of them are not professional artists or wannabe professional artists. I love that a majority of people who tune in to the show, and a majority of people I find at urban sketch meetups, are regular people simply trying to make time for art in their lives.

In busy lives with short attention spans, that someone would choose to make a drawing, or engage with art in their leisure time, is an admirable trait.

I believe this also applies to the many readers of this publication. And it applies to you as well, dear Insider, even if you do not draw at all. That you make space in your inbox every week, that you engage with my work, with my lines and my lines, hints at the soul of an artist budding inside you too.

Bob Dylan said,

“You don’t have to write anything to be a poet. Some are carpenters. Some shine shoes.”

I think he meant that being a poet was about noticing and appreciating poetry and beauty in your world, even if you lacked the skills to adequately express yourself. I think a lot of people are artists in the same way.

Dear Insider, did you have a question that you forgot to ask in time for this recording? Share it in the comments! Maybe I will add it to the episode.

Leave a comment

💻 Workshops

The first batch of summer workshops was held over Zoom last week. I have designed a new style of workshop this year, and these two sessions were my first time trying it out. Fortunately, participants loved it!

Here is some feedback I received…

I am keen to do at least one more Zoom workshop this month. The current choice of date is 31 July, 8:30 am Pacific Time (i.e. 9 pm India time).

Same rules as last time -

✍🏼 2 hours of nearly continuous drawing

🖼 Emphasis on people-drawing as portraits or in a busy scene

💰 $40 for just the seat OR,

📢 $50 to become a SneakyArt Insider and support my work, get this workshop for free, and receive discounts on future workshops.

To avail this option, tap the button below, select the annual option, and email me for a free seat after you have signed up!

Become a SneakyArt Insider

If you are already a SneakyArt Insider, scroll down for your special, limited discount code.

This post is for paid subscribers

The SneakyArt Post
The SneakyArt (Insider) Podcast
Best ideas from a journey of self-education. For Insider ears only.