The SneakyArt Post
The SneakyArt (Insider) Podcast
Ep 54 with Sandi Hester
3
0:00
-38:46

Ep 54 with Sandi Hester

making a youtube channel, and deciding to learn in public.
3

Dear listener,

Today’s audio is a previously paywalled, bonus segment from the most popular episode of the SneakyArt Podcast - #38 with Sandi Hester.

I am taking it out from behind the paywall and sharing it with the wider audience as part of my 2022 resolution to learn in public. Good ideas should see the sunlight, right?

Share The SneakyArt Post

Enjoy this episode in the Substack player, or pick a link below:

Spotify | Apple | PocketCasts | Google | Web | Gaana

💻 Making a YouTube Channel

This episode was recorded in April 2022, right after Sandi and I completed recording for Episodes 38 and 39. I had a couple of lingering questions and thought they would make good bonus content for SneakyArt Insiders.

Working in a visual medium, I am aware of the enormous value of having a YouTube channel. But recording myself on camera makes me cringe. So these were my questions -

  • How can I make a YT channel work for me - i.e. bring in new audiences and improve my work - without getting aggravated at the same time?

  • How can I make it sustainable - say, a weekly video? - without disrupting the rest of my workflow?

You will like this conversation if -

🙇‍♀️ you have self-doubt about sharing your work with an unknown audience
📹 you have considered entering YouTube but are intimidated by the magnitude of the task
🎙 you enjoyed episodes 38 and 39!

Check out Sandi’s amazing YouTube channel and visit her website.


💡 Sandi’s Top Tips

  • record now, talk later.

  • make small clips of the whole experience.

  • no single clip longer than 10 seconds.

  • make the content you would watch yourself.

  • do things that feed back to your art.


A six-month audit of this episode reveals that I do not have an active YouTube channel. But this conversation nevertheless had a profound impact on me. I carried Sandi’s ideas in my mind, and they helped me become more prolific with Instagram Reels and TikTok.

There are subtle differences between Reels/TikTok and YouTube, and I have found the former better suited to my temperament and work-style.

Dear listener, have you debated between Reels, TikTok and YouTube? How do you find the differences between these platforms - as creator or consumer?

Share your experience in the comments, and tell me what you think of this episode!

Leave a comment

🔐 Previously Paywalled Content

Here is a list of previously paywalled content that is now free to read/listen.

🎙 Video Games for Inspiration - A tangent from Episode 23 with Marc Taro Holmes, considering the artistic inspiration I have taken from video games.

🎙 Images of War - Learning about war illustrators after Episode 15 with George Butler.

✍🏼 Systems, Not Goals - Ideas around doing only what is fun, resonating with James Clear’s Atomic Habits, after Ep 29 with Koosje Koene.

✍🏼 Looking for Inspiration - Learning more about artists that inspired Roisin Cure, from our conversation in Ep 17.

🎙 Post Script with Tomas Pajdlhauser - Chatting with Captain Tom about self-publishing, after the recording for Ep 28.

🎙 Post Script with Koosje Koene - Chatting with Koosje about self-publishing, after recording Ep 29. This conversation led to Koosje’s new book, which we spoke about again in Ep 52.

🎙 Post Script with Emma Carlisle - Emma and I draw each other after recording Ep 32, while speaking about how Emma manages her time and works with a creative agent.


Also, earlier this year, I un-paywalled my most popular Insider post. Enjoy!

The SneakyArt Post
Insider #22 - Why I self-published my first book
👋🏼 Hello, Insiders + free readers*! *This post is going out to all readers of the SneakyArt Post because I want to share the lessons of self-publishing SneakyArt of Eau Claire with as many people as I can. This is part 4 (out of 5) of my notes from the conversation with Amit Varma on his podcast…
Read more

🎙 Help me keep these ideas free

I am no longer paywalling content as a way to entice paying subscribers. I do not like paywalling, even though for a time I thought it was expected of me.

I believe no one should be denied access to good ideas just for monetary reasons. And I am delighted to find this sentiment is shared by the overwhelming majority of my subscribers.

If you agree too, help me keep my work free for everyone. Support this publication, the podcast, and all the work I do. The annual subscription comes to less than one cup of coffee per episode!

Become a SneakyArt Insider

(If you sign up today, there is still time to participate in this week’s postcard giveaway!)

Thank you for your time and attention.

3 Comments
The SneakyArt Post
The SneakyArt (Insider) Podcast
Best ideas from a journey of self-education. For Insider ears only.